weird voltages, I'm a noob

Post questions or comments about the C84 here.

weird voltages, I'm a noob

Postby biasply » Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:18 am

Just completed the 4th of 4xC84s, first 3 working great, the fourth however...

Doing the first voltage test at pgnd and B+ = -9.1VDC, B- = -14.5VDC (both negative?!?),

this B- is typical so far for me with the trims all the way down.

Measuring pgnd and XLR pins 2 and 3 BOTH read +46.1 VDC.... yes both positive!!

I've scoured for shorts - none found, but I'm pretty much a noob, and have no idea what to check next.

Steve.
biasply

Re: weird voltages, I'm a noob

Postby jamesnorth » Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:17 pm

biasply \$m[1]:Just completed the 4th of 4xC84s, first 3 working great, the fourth however...

Doing the first voltage test at pgnd and B+ = -9.1VDC, B- = -14.5VDC (both negative?!?),

this B- is typical so far for me with the trims all the way down.

I've scoured for shorts - none found, but I'm pretty much a noob, and have no idea what to check next.

Steve.

Hi Steve,

I had a similar issue with one of my C84's as well and I had put the LM317 and LM337 in the wrong slots (swapped them around) and it had caused C34 (tantalum cap) to blow.

Might be way off, but it solved my issue!

James
jamesnorth

Re: weird voltages, I'm a noob

Postby DPLight » Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:00 pm

biasply \$m[1]:

Steve.

This would be normal if you have the phantom power switch on (if the XLR is the mic input).
DPLight

Postby biasply » Sun Jun 19, 2011 6:13 am

@jamesnorth - yes checking all my polarized caps, all Q's and U's was the first thing I did.

@DPLight - ah, ok, pardon me my noob is showing... could of swore pin 3 should be negative voltage.

I've continued with some of the other tests:

across R35-R38 = 135mV
across R50-R62 = 256mV
across pgnd-R30 = -12.78 V
biasply

Postby DPLight » Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:05 am

biasply \$m[1]:@DPLight - ah, ok, pardon me my noob is showing... could of swore pin 3 should be negative voltage.