One of my N72s - 5-6 db lower out level

Post questions or comments about the N72 here.

One of my N72s - 5-6 db lower out level

Postby tree » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:08 am

hi -
i've just completed 4 N72 builds - all GREAT, but one of them has about a 5-6db lower output and seems to be missing some low end info. i haven't found anything yet directly related to this issue on the message board.
i've re-examined all solder joints and they all look good - quite clean, def. no visible bridges ... rechecked values of components around
the inputs and outputs... all looks right so far.
Can anyone suggest any areas of the board i should pay particularly closer attention to, areas to maybe reflow ?

apologies, i've had some experience building, but still pretty green to the scene :mrgreen: !
tree

Re: One of my N72s - 6 db lower out level

Postby tree » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:04 pm

a bit frustrating...
reflowed bunch of things around input and output then everything around Q4,Q5 and Q6 (and related resistors). Then re-biased R39 as described in the assembly instructions.
checked it with audio and it seemed to be behaving (yay!), BUT ... then after i put it all back together in the case, checked it again and :evil: there it was again 6 db lower on module #4!!!

any suggestions out there sure would be much appreciated.
tree

Re: One of my N72s - 5-6 db lower out level

Postby tpryan » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:12 pm

Are you absolutely sure it's not a problem with your cabling, patchbay, mixer, converter, etc.? What is your test procedure? Is the difference exactly 6dB?
tpryan
Site Admin

Re: One of my N72s - 5-6 db lower out level

Postby tree » Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:15 am

sent a console test tone (neotek elite) out one line and that one line plugged into the input of a "good" module with the single return line from that module output plugged into to a single channel of the desk, set to read 0db.