Wow!!!

Post questions or comments about the N72 here.

Wow!!!

Postby pintsized » Sat Oct 04, 2008 10:53 am

Just writing to say how much fun I had building my first N72 (I've never done anything like this before), and how absolutely stoked I am with the sound! I'm seriously impressed :)

I had a couple of minor set backs, but the advice from previous threads here really helped.. I'm a total amateur with a soldering iron and had success first time simply by paying careful attention to the instructions and to the advice on this forum.

I have another to build, then I'll definitely be buying some of the other modules.

I have a question though about the importance of fine tuning the bias.. I don't have an oscilloscope, but I'm willing to get one if it's important enough. I'm assuming I can use my DAW as a signal generator?

Basically I'm really happy with the sound, but want to know if fine tuning them is considered important for things like stereo recording of acoustic instruments (since I do that a lot)? I'm reluctant to shell out for an oscilloscope if I'm not going to be able to tell the difference!

Another application I have in mind is to run my DAW output through a pair of N72s at mix time (via a pad of some sort I guess) if I feel a bit of colour will help the mix. Again, is it worth me buying an oscilloscope or will I be ok without fine tuning.. particularly if on both modules I get the same readings at Q6 for instance?

I suppose what I'm trying to get at is; does the fine tuning make /any/ audiable difference or is it more in the name of 'correctness'? Using an oscilloscope, am I able to get a 'matched' pair of N72s to a degree of accuracy otherwise not possible?

Thanks in advance.. and thanks so much Tim for this awesome pre-amp!

James.
pintsized

Re: Wow!!!

Postby bkspero » Sat Oct 04, 2008 1:17 pm

pintsized \$m[1]: