T-15 Build for the non-electrician

Post questions or comments about the T15 here.

T-15 Build for the non-electrician

Postby BMG » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:11 am

I just finished my first SCA build and I opted for the T-15 because I'm not a pro at building circiut boards but I have had a few times I needed a soldering iron.
Like most of you, I'm guessing you are a musician. I'm a guitar player. I've swapped out pickups and tried my hand at some other modifications. I'm slowly putting together a recording setup at home and wanted to add a mic pre to a Focusrite 18i8 going into Reason. If you are like me, you have already spent hours pouring over forums trying to figure out what to buy and hope you make the "right" choice for your sound you hear in your head. You have probably spent hours reading about Neve and API and all the clones and marveled at the fierceness of certain posts defending or slamming different gear.

So again, I choose the T-15 because I've read it is clean without much "color" and has enough gain for just about any style mic. Isnt that what we really want a preamp to do? Amplifiy the mic of choice to bring it to a level that we appreciate the characteristic of the chosen mic?

Well, here is my help to all those considering the T-15:
1. It is a fairly easy build WITH THE RIGHT TOOLS. I used the recomended tools on the list and it did make things go easy. I've read about guys that did it in three hours. I took my time and it was more like 7 hours over two days, getting it into the one shot chassis. So don't race and beat yourself up if you don't finish in record time. I felt very confident when finished because I took my time and everything checked out when powered up.

2. Watch videos of solder technique if you don't know how. There are some pretty clear, helpful videos on line. I watched the lapse time of the N72 build and learned some things from that too!